Asking for and giving expression things are sentences of English used to ask for something or give something in English.

1. Here is some vocabulary or phrases that often we say or we hear in Asking for and giving expression.

Listen and repeat after her teacher read!
1. May
2. Give
3. Borrow
4. Can I
5. Can you
6. Lend
7. Can
8. May i
9. I am sorry
10. I am using it
11. Thanks

2. Some examples of asking for and giving expression thing

Listen and repeat after the teacher finished reading it!

A. Examples of expression and respond ask for things:
1. Can I …., Please?
2. May I …., Please?
3. Can you …., Please?
4. To give the things, we can use:
5. Here you are.
6. Sure.
7. Of course.

B. Examples of expression and respond refuse to give the things:
1. I’m sorry. I’m using it.
2. Not now. I’m using it / them myself. Sorry.
3. Sorry, I’m using it / them right now.
4. To show our gratitude, we say:
5. Thanks.

C. Examples of expression and respond asking for and giving help
1. Can you help me?
2. Could you tell me ….?
3. OK.
4. Sure.
5. Of course.

D. Examples of expression and respond offering help
1. Can I help you?
2. What can I do for you?
3. Yes, please.
4. No, thank you.

3. Examples of conversations about things Asking for and Giving expression.

Listen and repeat after her teacher read

A: Can I borrow your dictionary, please?
B: Sure, here you are.
A: Thanks
B: Do not mention it
A: May I borrow your book, please?
B: Of Course.
A: thank you so much
A: you are welcome
A: Can you lend me you pen, please?
B: I’m sorry. I’m using it now.
C: Thanks anyway.
B: you are welcome
A: Can I borrow your ruler?
B: Sorry, I’m using it right now.
C: It’s OK. Thanks anyway.
A: what can I do for you?
B: please help me lift this suitcase
A: sure
A: thank you
B: With my pleasure
A: Can I help you?
B: yes. Give this book to Mr. Andy
A: Ok
B: Thank you
A: do not mention it

The dialogue examples of asking and giving thing.

Rudi : Ton, may I borrow your pencil? I lost mine.

Tono : Sure, mine is on my table.

Rudi : OK, I’ll take it. Thanks

Tono : Your pencil is blunt, can I borrow your sharpener?

Rudi : Certainly, here you are.

Tono : Thanks. Rud, can you lend me your English book?

Rudi : Sorry, I’m using it right now.

Tono : Well, it’s OK